Frequently Asked Questions

Personal Injury FAQ

What is your legal fee?

You do not have to pay any money to me out of your pocket. My fee is based on the amount of money that I am able to get for you. The usual rate for many lawyers is 33.3%. However, my fee is only 29% and I also guarantee that my fee will never be larger than the amount of money that goes to my client.

How much time does a normal case take?

Every case is different and normally depends on how badly injured you are. For example, the longer that it takes for you to fully heal from your injuries, the longer your case will take. But, as a general rule, a case will usually be settled within 30-60 days from the time you are fully released by your doctors.

My wreck was not in Wilmington. Can you help me?

Absolutely! I can handle any wreck that happens in North Carolina.

Will your law firm keep me informed about the status of my case?

Of course. I work very hard to make sure that none of my clients are ever unaware of the status of their case. Whether it be by phone call, letter, email, or text messaging, I can keep you informed.

How much money can I expect to get?

It is impossible to predict how much money a case is worth because it depends on so many factors. Some of the factors include the amount of damage to your car, the amount of your medical bills, the types of injuries you sustained, how long it takes for your injuries to heal, and which insurance company is handling your case.

I need to see a doctor, but I don't know any doctors. Can you help?

The law does not say what doctor you must see. You simply must be "reasonable." If you need help choosing a doctor, my office will help you.


What is going to happen to my license?

If you are convicted of DWI, you are going to lose your license. However, if it is your first DWI, you are normally eligible for a limited driving privilege. This is a paper license signed by a Judge that allows you to drive to work, to school, and to other necessary places. If you are convicted of a second DWI within a 7-year period, you will lose your license . . . period.

What is your legal fee?

For a routine DWI, my fee starts at $1,000.00. If the case requires a trial or there are unusual aspects to the case, my fee may be slightly higher.

Can I make payments?

Yes. My office's policy is that you must pay half of my legal fee before I go to Court for you the first time. You can then make payments.

Do I have to go to Court with you?

I can normally get your case postponed without you having to attend Court with me. However, when the case is ultimately handled, you will have to be in Court with me.

Traffic Ticket FAQ

I received a ticket. Is there a way to avoid insurance points?

Yes. Depending on your record in North Carolina during the last three years, there are several options available. I go over the advantages and disadvantages of each option when you call my office.

My ticket is not in New Hanover County. Can you help?

Yes. I handle New Hanover County, Brunswick County, and Pender County.

When I got my ticket, the police officer said I can just pay for the ticket. Is this true?

It is true for some tickets. But, when you pay for a ticket, it is the same thing as pleading guilty to it and you could suffer substantial insurance penalties. So, although the police officer said that you "can" pay for the ticket, you rarely "should."

Do I have to go to Driving School?

If your record during the last three years is not wonderful, Driving School may be the best way for you to avoid insurance points. I will discuss your various options with you when you call my office.

Do I have to go to Court with you?

For the overwhelming majority of traffic tickets, you do not have to go to Court. I can handle it for you.

Criminal Defense FAQ

Do I have to go to Court with you?

It depends on the charge. Some lesser offenses do not require you to go to Court with me. I can tell you whether you would have to attend Court when you call my office.

If I hire you, will I be able to avoid jail?

In North Carolina, jail is not a possibility for many crimes. However, for the cases where jail is a possibility, the likelihood of you going to jail largely depends on your prior criminal record. When you hire me, I will exmaine your prior record and let you know what possible penalties you face.

General FAQ

Where is your office?

My office is located at 2709 Market Street. It is on Market Street across from the YMCA.

What are your hours?

I am typically at my office by 9:00am and am open until 5:00pm Mondays through Fridays. If you schedule requires an appointment outside of these hours, I am flexible and will be happy to work with you.

If I choose to hire your law firm, will I be able to meet with Mr. Humphrey himself.

Absolutely! I personally handle every case and meet with every client!

I don't get off work until after 5:00pm, but I need to talk to you.

No problem. My office phone is answered at all decent hours. Call (910) 763-9913 and I will be happy to talk to you.

What forms of payment do you accept?

I accept cash, money orders, personal checks, Mastercard, and Visa.